It is currently Mon Mar 25, 2019 1:16 am



Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Stronghold Kingdoms App 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:22 pm
Posts: 30
Reply with quote
Post Stronghold Kingdoms App
I hate that when I go on vacation that I have to take my laptop with me just to check my kingdoms. I think that Firefly should make an app that is just like it when you go on the computer. You can buy crowns and tokens and all the things that you can do on a computer. I think that it should be free or at the most .99c. It will be for iPad, iPod and iPhone . What do you think?


Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:59 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 939
Reply with quote
Post Re: Stronghold Kingdoms App
I doubt an iPad will run a SHK ap unless it is non graphical. My old comp the kids play with is 2.4mhz/2gb ddr2/500 mb ATi graphics card. It barely runs SHK as it is now.

As it sits now SHk uses over 1/2 gb ram to run.

_________________
"America is about speed.
Hot, nasty, bad-ass speed!"

Eleanor Roosevelt
1936


Wed Apr 27, 2011 8:59 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:22 pm
Posts: 30
Reply with quote
Post Re: Stronghold Kingdoms App
I think it would be a good idea though if they could work it out


Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:48 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:16 am
Posts: 20
Reply with quote
Post Re: Stronghold Kingdoms App
Stronghold Kingdoms seems to be about the same graphics as the 2001 strong hold. an ipad easily packs more processing power than any computer around 2001 so i don't think it's a matter of hardware. i think there's just no real motivation since majority of the playerbase isn't really asking for it.

i personally would love it cause i already have an iphone and it'd be great to monitor my town while on the go. :) as a software developer my self, i would personally just make an web action script or flash interface for the main game engine so that people can at least launch it off a browser (so i can play from work hehe). But the down side is once it's on a browser, it's harder to enforce the same IP rules and more people are likely to be cheating with multi accounts and so forth which ruins the game.

anyhow, my 2 cents.


Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:25 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 939
Reply with quote
Post Re: Stronghold Kingdoms App
Rule 1 - It ia ALWAYS about the Hardware!!!

The iPad is a much more crap-tastic device than most people think. It is basically a large phone, not a compact computer.

iPad has a;
1GHz dual-core Apple A5 chip
256k ram.

ipad 2 supposedly has upped the ram to 512k, but I cannot find a confirmation on that.

While I agree that not all numbers can be compared over time. The issue here is the superior technology has been used to make devices more energy efficient, not necessarily higher performance. (Remember, big phone, not a small computer) SHK is quite the ram hog for a non-3D

This might put some perspective on things;

I previously mentioned that SHK uses up 550 -560 MB's or ram.
Titan Quest (Single Player) uses about 330-340 MB's of ram.
Demigod (Single Player) is identical to SHk at 550-560 mb's of ram.

_________________
"America is about speed.
Hot, nasty, bad-ass speed!"

Eleanor Roosevelt
1936


Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:38 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 6:01 pm
Posts: 24
Reply with quote
Post Re: Stronghold Kingdoms App
Anidem wrote:
I previously mentioned that SHK uses up 550 -560 MB's or ram.

Image
Look at this part of screenshot from task manager. I'm using win xp and SHK rarely goes over 100 MB, when i'm on merchants tab or forums it goes down to 20 MB, on map usually 70-100 MB.


Sat Apr 30, 2011 8:41 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 939
Reply with quote
Post Re: Stronghold Kingdoms App
Hamond wrote:
Anidem wrote:
I previously mentioned that SHK uses up 550 -560 MB's or ram.

Image
Look at this part of screenshot from task manager. I'm using win xp and SHK rarely goes over 100 MB, when i'm on merchants tab or forums it goes down to 20 MB, on map usually 70-100 MB.

That is almost the exact opposite report that I get. Rarely does the SHK.exe go above 10-12% of CPU usage for me. How did you manage 70% cpu?

_________________
"America is about speed.
Hot, nasty, bad-ass speed!"

Eleanor Roosevelt
1936


Sat Apr 30, 2011 2:29 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 6:01 pm
Posts: 24
Reply with quote
Post Re: Stronghold Kingdoms App
Because i have crappy 8 year old PC.


Sat Apr 30, 2011 8:58 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 1:22 pm
Posts: 30
Reply with quote
Post Re: Stronghold Kingdoms App
I think it could work I'd it was a little less detailed than the computer game.


Mon May 02, 2011 12:51 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:39 pm
Posts: 939
Reply with quote
Post Re: Stronghold Kingdoms App
nbmdennis wrote:
I think it could work I'd it was a little less detailed than the computer game.


I always thought that there should be a button to stop the village animations. But then again I think the would village building thing is pointless.

_________________
"America is about speed.
Hot, nasty, bad-ass speed!"

Eleanor Roosevelt
1936


Mon May 02, 2011 10:24 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 14 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.